Sepia Dreamer
The Sublime

So here is the second release on Leon Macy’s (Mithras) new label, and it’s an altogether different release than the excellent Sarpanitum album.

Sepia Dreamer is an atmospheric two piece instrumental outfit consisting of Welshman Sam Brokenshaw and a Swede, Jonas Wrennige. The music isn’t your usual instrumental affair (i.e. just metal without vocals), but rather something more in line with the avant-garde musings you’d find on Equilibrium Music or Prophecy Productions that’s to say a more soundscape-ish and orchestral take on metal.

Of course, your level of interest in this album will be gauged by how much you like instrumental metal. Me personally, it’s certainly not the first thing I will reach for, but that being said, the 4 lengthy tracks that comprise The Sublime are far more enjoyable than the more moody likes of Pelican, Irepress, Tides and Red Sparowes and even Cold Meat Industry’s folkier, ambient stuff as they lie somewhere in between.

The rich hues and textures blend within in each of the four tracks to make for some beautiful yet tangibly metal moments such as about halfway through opener “The Exposition”. The material is far more fluid and organic than most instrumental metal as shown by the twenty-minute “Development” a dreamy, mood weaving epic that’s the centerpiece of the album with it’s many tempos and time changes. The guitars, when applied are dense, yet not overbearing, and the almost black metal, otherworldly atmospherics are appropriately used within the framework of the songs, not just as segues or intros.

Sepia Dreamer’s style of less jarring and imaginative music is more atmospherically instrumental metal for D & D/High Fantasy fans, not trendy modern metal hipster fans and deserves your attention.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 2nd, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness