Slaughter To Prevail

The debut album, Misery Sermon from these track suit and mask wearing Russian deathcore thugs was one of my guilty pleasures of 2017, but then they went a bit quiet for a couple of years. But a flurry of singles and videos in 2019, 2020 and 2021 (and even got the famed metal gunner/drummer treatment for “Demolisher“) indicated the guys were about ready to drop another massive album soon, and they have in Kostolom, but with a bit of a caveat.

You see, while certainly deathcore, and at times, really fucking heavy death core with Aleksandr “Alex Terrible” Shikolai’s super low, almost comical vocals, this album also has some almost Nu metal, jump da fuck up, Slipknot, Korn or even Limp Bizkit  like vibes and vocals (just listen to opener “Bonebreaker”, “Baba Yaga”, “Made in Russia”, “Zavali Ebalo”, “Agony” or “Your Only” for example), that seems increased from the debut and fans will either like or loathe, and would be at home on an early Soulfly album. The thing is, sometimes it works and I have to admit, these guy deliver some of the grooviest, ‘danceable’ breakdowns in deathcore. And yes, I know how ridiculous that sentence sounds.

But when these guys do bear down both musically and vocally, and just do more straight up deathcore,  it fucking crushes. For example “Demolisher”, “I Killed A Man”, pummeling “Head On A Plate” closer “Father”, as well as parts of the above more commercial tracks like “Agony” and “Your Only” certainly have some heft. And like I said above, I’d be lying if the likes of the ultra groovy “Bratva”, “Ouroborus”, aforementioned “Head On A Plate” or “Father”  didn’t get my hips and shoulders moving in a ridiculous pelvic dance that would be sure to make people think I’m having a seizure.

When it comes to straight up deathcore in 2021, these guys have their moments and are kinds fun at times, but I’m still more likely to reach for Osiah, Crown Magnetar or Signs Of The Swarm‘s latest when I want a pure, breakdown filled beatdown or Mental Cruelty, Worm Shepard and Lorna Shore for something a little more adventurous.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 3rd, 2021


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP