Sonic Syndicate
Only Inhuman

It’s about time we got a new Soilwork record. And when did the hot bass player join the band? … Oh, wait a minute. sorry.

Only a few notes into the Nuclear Blast debut by Sonic Syndicate, it’s easy to see how I could have gotten confused. Among certain circles, Sonic Syndicate will lose credibility almost immediately because of the way they got the deal. They were the winners of the label’s contest for new bands. There must have been a whole lot of Soilwork fans voting, because most of this record consists of rehashed numbers from Figure Number Five and Stabbing the Drama.

To the band’s credit, they do it well – even though they require two vocalists to do what Speed can do by himself. The record is enjoyable enough if you pretend it is a new Soilwork record. The riffs are solid, the melodies catchy and the songs are memorable. When you remember that it isn’t Soilwork, though, it will probably spoil the experience.

There are a couple of songs here that break the mold. The ballad “Enclave” it sounds like a standard rock radio ballad that you can hear everyday. “All About Us,” a pure metalcore number, is slightly more interesting though it doesn’t quite develop into the song you want it to.

Otherwise, it’s an exercise in Soilwork worship, and newer Soilwork at that. If you really loved Figure Number Five and Stabbing the Drama and want something similar to hold you over until their new record comes out later this year, Only Inhuman might fit the bill. If you’re looking for originality, look elsewhere.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Fred Phillips
June 29th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North