Sound of Memories
To Deliverence

I had zero expectations for this release: French melodic death metal from a year ago with odd moniker. But seeing as Finisterian Dead End, who released War Inside‘s solid SUTURE recently, picked this up, I thought I would give it a fair shake, and I’m glad I did, as it delivered an energizing, reinvigorating take on Gothenburg melodic death metal from days of yore.

After a lovely orchestral intro in “Non Compos Mentis” , the band burst forth with “Momentum” a capsule of the band’s energy, influence and own take on a tired and tested genre. The vocals are a little deeper and monotone than the genre’s usual rasp (think Johan Hegg), the guitars tone a bit beefier, if muddier, but the catchy gallop and canter with ample leads more than makes up for it. Around 2:47 in you get a beautiful little bridge and some well done clean vocals-often the death knell for an album such as this. These are licks and leads In Flames and Dark Tranquillity lived off in the late 90s and early 00s.

Speaking of In Flames and DT, listen to the sick opening of one of the standouts, “Confined in Struggle” and tell me that isn’t one of the better examples of the style you have heard since those days. Now that quality isn’t that good for the albums entire 10 song, 44 minute duration, but there are some great moments littered throughout to please those who enjoyed the genre’s hey day.

“Eulogy” is the album’s first slight misstep with a  choppier, thrashier pace, but the somber, almost Disillusion-ish clean vocals make another appearance, salvaging the track somewhat and it bleeds right into another average track in “Amenaa” a sudden slow down in pace and mood with an almost Middle Eastern/Arabic vibe before the track veers into a more thrash, stuttering structure. “Pray For Blood” brings back the pure melodic death metal gallop with vengeance and “The Vulture’s Pride” delivers a very cool mid paced, stern march while Beyond the Maze” is a pure thrasher.

Other than the openers, the other highlights of the album are the two last tracks, “From Above” with its Amon Amarth-ish chug and violin fade out. Then, the closing title track, both using those Disillusion-y clean vocals, to very cool, layered effect especially in the latter, a 7 minute  tour de force of the style (with a great little mid song acoustic section and orchestral fade out), which tells you what the band and this fine little album is all about. Recommended if you want a little reminder of how great this sound once was.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 22nd, 2016


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream