Sounds of Fury

I had zero expectations for this album. Considering the label’s recent out put, that cover, the moniker and album title that reads as ‘mediocrity’ at a glance. However, with this sophomore effort, these Swiss vets (who have toiled in DarkRise since 2003) have actually , along with Epsilon’s Zu Richten and Tomb of Finland‘s Below the Greenare bringing a small measure of respect back for Mighty Music.

What we have here, is some technical-ish death metal that has a very heavy Dutch sound a la Sinister, Prostitute Disfigurement,  Houwitser and such, especially in the sharp, guitar tone and twisty delivery. Throw in some impressive blast furnace vocals from Nicolas Troillon, and you have a very enjoyable, competent album of death metal.

It’s not going to change death metal, but those looking for a new, fresh fix from maybe a previously unknown source, you could do way worse,. It’s got lots of slicing, pinch harmonic blasts (“Sidewalk Business”), plenty of groovy lurches ( especially “Captain Obvious”), squealing solos and those aforementioned powerful unprocessed vocals. There’s even some sneaky melody tucked in the Sinister-ish slices (“The Art of Avoidance”). The guys know how to play and their experience from 4 albums with DarkRise shows.

From opener “Pedagogy Fuck Fest” to closer “Disregard”, the album is just satisfying, no frills death metal, something Mighty Music used to be really good at. Let’s hope they are back on track as Sounds Of Fury certainly seems to point that way.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 1st, 2015


  1. Commented by: Jay

    Damn solid. I like it! Won’t change the world, but just the good brutal stuff the way it should be done.

  2. Commented by: Jay

    I also agree about the album cover. Sheesh, if I saw that sitting in a store I wouldn’t think twice about it if I didn’t know what it was!

  3. Commented by: Vance

    Wow, this is really good. It’s solid all the way around. I guess in a way it also reminds me of Blood Red Throne.


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu