Spectral Mortuary
From Hate Incarnated

With members of Exmortem in its ranks, you’d expect the debut full length from Denmark’s Spectral Mortuary to be lifeless blast fest, but in truth it looks like Mighty Music may have unearthed one of Europe’s hidden death metal gems.

This is just damn fine death metal from top to bottom. Much like the recent Aeon release, it’s not particularly original and has some tangible obvious influences (Sinister, Deranged, Iniquity, the technicality of the Florida scene the chunkiness of the Belgian scene and of course Exmortem), but the end result is just a sheer assault of competent, blistering death metal.

Other than instrumental closer “Concluding Carnage”, these 11 tracks spit forth with slicing complexity (“Necrotic Flesh Cravings”, “Prime Murder Suspect”), menacing growls and thunderous grooves (“Autophagist”), all with a classic death metal lyrical lean of death and destruction and the very slightest solo work the accent the brutality (“Hogtied and Waiting”, “Weapons”). There’s no frills, no tangents, no attempts at progression, just pure unadulterated, churning death metal of a pretty damn high caliber.

Backed by a bludgeoning but crisp Berno Studio (Amon Amarth, Deranged, The Haunted), production, Spectral Mortuary’s assault on European death metal is complete and I highly recommend this for death metal fans looking for a relatively ‘new’, unheard of band to freshen up their death metal collection.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 13th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Necronemesis - Some Things Should Stay Underground
  • Felled - The Intimate Earth
  • Kryptik Mutation - Pulled from the Pit
  • The Absence - Coffinized
  • Osiah - Loss
  • Mental Cruelty - A Hill To Die Upon
  • Laparotomy - Ascendancy through Hypnagogic Thought Process
  • Bodsysnatch - Instigate the Lunatics
  • Hannes Grossman - To Where the Light Retreats
  • Traumatomy - Extirpation Paradigms
  • In Asymmetry - Ashes of Dead Worlds
  • Feanor - Power of the Chosen One
  • Yellowtooth - The Burning Illusion
  • Fear Factory - Aggression Continuum
  • Bile - Sharks And Covid, Vol​.​1 / Children Of The Gun EP