Storming Darkness

This Russian black metal outfit plays a no-frills, back to basics version of the genre. No choirs, no classical music, no synths or keys, no acoustic interludes or Viking themes or mouth harps or crackly atmospheric ambience. Just straight up buzzy black metal in the vein of early Gorgoroth.

Compositions are strong, with melodies throughout a bit more dissonant and twisted than your usual frosty melodic Dissection/Naglfar whirlwind. In fact, some of this reminds me more of the unique melodies of USBM acts like Leviathan, minus the experimental elements. Key cuts include “Weaved of Worms,” “Awakening in Sin,” and “Return to Mother Night.” The album does tend to become a bit stale after awhile though, as tempos and execution are largely the same throughout.

Production-wise, this is pretty conventional stuff, with ghostly rasped vocals mixed below the guitars and steady drumming throughout. Bass is mostly relegated to the far background, although occasionally an accompanying melody may crop up, as on “Steps for Hell.”

Although there’s nothing new here, it is a respectable example of the genre. If Storming Darkness uses the strengths of Sin-Thesis as a foundation and pushes their creative and compositional boundaries further for the next release, I’d be interested to hear it.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jordan Itkowitz
January 18th, 2009


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP