Stortregn’s (‘downpour’) development from a melodic black metal band into a more technical, shredding death metal band with a few black metal elements has been a splendid development, and fittingly with the style shift, the band found themselves on the perfect label, The Artisan Era, literally the preemptive label for shreddy/melodic, sometimes symphonic tech death/black metal.

And with album number 6, the Swiss act finds itself as a long-running, veteran band, now consistently delivering high-standard, high-quality material, and Finitude is even better than the last excellent effort, 2021’s Impermanence.

The title track bursts out of the gates with shredding ferocity and flamenco-imbued leads, something which litters the entire album with great effect. “A Last Battle Rages On” continues the high-octane start to the album, and certainly Finitude comes out of the gate far more aggressively than I expected.

Then with one of the standouts “Xeno Chaos” (which is unfortunately not about Xenomorphs), starts a run of truly special tracks that lean a little harder into the more melodic and again more flamenco/ acoustic littered tracks with the likes of the blistering  “Cold Void” which acoustically bleeds into ‘Rise of the Insidious”, with its classically inspired solo work.

The last 2 tracks of the album though are absolutely stellar, “De Inferno Solis” and “The Revelation”. The first has some killer, melodic blasting, and the closer is the album’s best, shreddiest track.

Yet another polished, clinical, surgical album from these guys and 6 albums in they appear to have fully hit their stride and


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 7th, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal