Catacombs of Decay

India’s Transcending Obscurity is becoming a pretty reliable source for simple, no frills death metal of late, (Primitiv, Third Sovereign, Affliction Gate, etc), and the duo comprising Indian newcomers Strangulate is no exception.

Using old school American Death metal as a template, the Cannibal Corpse and Suffocation influence is immediate and obvious, but these guys do it pretty well. 8 songs, 32 minutes of no nonsense blasting death metal with vocals, song titles and lyrics plucked straight from the Frank Mullen and George Fisher school of death metal; as the likes of “Barbaric Decadence”, ‘Primordial Execution”, “Misogynistic Horror” and “Orchestrated Massacre” show with shameless aplomb and gusto.

Don’t expect much more from this. It’s that’s simple. But it’s effective and enjoyable. The production is spot on and the songs have the great balance of straight on face rippers (“Humanity’s End”) and slower,  meat mangling lopes (.i.e “Blood and Bones” has a particularly nice inspired chug) , just like their clear US peers. None of the songs will change the death metal landscape, but that’s not the intent here. The intent is to pay homage to some of the American classics of yore with a fine energy and solid skill, and and leave a trail of blood and gore in their tracks. Mission accomplished.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 28th, 2016


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP