The Assailant

I really wanted to like this album due to the killer artwork and card digipack it came in, however Seattle’s The Assailant are no more than another drop in the ‘caustic math metal, screamo, spazz-core with a bit of experimentation’ ocean.

With the press sheet dropping words like Botch, pg 99 and Fugazi, the 8 numerically titled tracks that constitute Cólera, you’d be lead into thinking The Assailant are progressive, challenging act, but the truth is, other than the brief instrumental “00” and drawn out closing number “20” this trio are no more different than the 100’s of other bands plying the same noisy, bitter, screaming aesthetic and over the top lyrics and calling it ‘grindcore’. Fear before the march of Flames is a good reference point.

The band fits and flails through this 26 minute spat with the occasional forced introspective moment (“24”) and though closer, the nine minute “20 features female choirs and strings its still essentially mired in 9 minutes of caterwauling, wailing and seemingly random noise.

Yawn. (squawk)

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
July 7th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal
  • Hideous Divinity - Unextinct
  • Exhorder - Defectum Omnium
  • Obscura Qalma - Veils Of Transcendence EP
  • Stiriah - Portal