The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza
Danza II: Electric Boogaloo

Arguably the poster child for the current trend of squawking, screeching chaotic pseudo grind, Louisiana’s The Tony Danza Tapdance Extravaganza, despite their silly name, song titles, skits and irreverent humor are actually musically more in line with the likes of early Ion Dissonance as well as labelmates From A Second Story Window, Architect and Khann as far as bludgeoning modern tech metal/grind competence, though I can still say I’m not overly thrilled about them upon my first listen.

Of course, this is the expected mix of skittish, jagged off kilter chaos littered with crumbling grooves and harsh hardcore shouts and its done very well, with more than enough moments of speaker wilting heft amid the discordant caterwauling, but there’s not enough to keep me coming back or completely rip my face off like the aforementioned label mates.

Part of the hindrance is mostly non musical as the comedic interludes that litter the album (“T.R.O.U.B.L.E. (Intro Skit)”, “Top English (Midget Pool Skit)”, “Shot of Whiskey (Beginning of the End Barfight Skit)” and “Louisiana Dive Bar Massacre (Sawin’ Bones and Chuggin’ Brew Outro Skit)”) though break up the continual surge of spazzing down-tuned histrionics, might be funny to those in the band on in on the joke, otherwise serve as pointless voids of filler, so them there’s only 9 actual tracks of the frantic, bladder squeezing music.

Musically, TTDTE really aren’t to different from many of the bands plying this form of modern tech/grind/hardcore, granted they are not as annoying or grating but they also don’t really standout out as they seem to rely on their humor and self deprecating, trailer park imagery to make them stand out from the pack. That being said, tracks like “Carroll 14 Wosman 7”, “Nobody Eats Barbeque Two Days is a Row” and “Rollin’ and Tumblin’ on Satan’s Rotisserie” deliver short brutal bursts of earthy produced discordance that the kids will love.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 20th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu