Thy Primordial
Under Iskall Trollmane

This album, Sweden’s Thy Primordial’s first recorded but third released, seems like demo material that has been released years later. Compared to their current material, the musicianship is weak and the production is weak, which is not unusual for a band’s first release, but this is a solid album in its own right. Thy Primordial formed in 1994 and recorded Under Iskall Trollmane (under ice-cold troll moon) in 1995. It was shelved until 1998 when it was apparently released on Gothic Records, though I could not find it at the time, so I am pleased that WWIII decided to re-release it in 2001.

For those not familiar with the band, what we have is a Swedish band playing the Norwegian black metal style, slow and melodic guitars and harsh screams, with many fast paced parts accompanied by blastbeats. Fans of the early Norwegian scene should like it, but if you are new to the band, it is not their best material. Fans of Thy Primordial will not be disappointed because it is simply a more raw version of what you would expect. Standout songs include “Bortum Nattsvart Himmel,” with its audible bass lines and fast melodic guitars and “Mitt Sokandes Ritual,” an epic 8-minute affair with excellent slow guitars. this one is worth the price of admission.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
September 27th, 2001


  1. Commented by: .W.

    don’t forget the excellent solos in the latter half of the album, surprising just like hearing Vlad Tepes’ for the first time. rockin’ and unexpectedly so…

    far prefer this to Crimson Carnage.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom