Unholdun EP

I’m always on the lookout for heraldic, medieval black metal in the vein of Véhémence, Eisenkult, Sühnopfer, Abduction, Ungfell, Hanternoz, Passéisme, Heltekvad  and such. And here we have the debut EP from one-man band, Frenchman Alexis Chiambretto, and this 4 song 22-ish-minute debut is a must-have if you enjoy any of the above bands.

You should have some idea what to expect if you do in fact enjoy the above bands; pained, semi-howled, screamed vocals (In French), a throbbing early Ulver is bass, melodic but still searing tremolo picked riffs, and tangible medieval-themed atmospheres (though no folky,  Ungfell type interludes or instrumentation here).

All four songs are top-notch, with a few really nice moments in all of them. For example, the rousing opener “Framée” has a really fucking nice riff for its final 2 minutes, the same for the last few minutes of “Francisque”. “Angon” has a nifty little militant mid-song march and furious closer “Flamberge” briefly adds some clean background vocals to the proceedings and has a very, very nice mid-song break before all hell lets loose and the song fades out with a more restrained, moody final stanza.

A very promising debut EP that continues Purity Through Fire and France’s reputation for excellent black metal.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 5th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu