Upon Ruins
Legacy of Desolation

Founder and owner of now-defunct Canadian record label Blasthead records, Paul Shaw, always had an ear for good music, even if his own tech death band Hate Division was merely average. But it appears he and his Hate Division pals have a better knack for melodic death metal.

With nods to Amon Amarth, Arghoslent, Helcaraxe, House of Atreus,and even some good old Iron Maiden, Upon Ruins has released a solid debut of melodic death metal, but not the twiddly airy Gothenburg kind, a more loose, rough and ready rambunctious kind that fits the warring themes of the songs (each song is about a particular battle in history).

With a relaxed production and delivery, the songs canter and trot with amicable pacing and catchy but burly riffs and solos. The musicianship isn’t perfect, but it suits the style better than the tightness required from punchy tech death metal of Hate Division.

There are some really strong melo-death riffs and songs here like “The Endless Sands” or more furious “In Flames and Decay” and closer “A Cold Empty Throne”. Then there’s a strong mid-paced thrashy number in “Of Distant Shores” and the killer, moody slower title track with a nice little interlude “Forlorn Hope” sandwiched in between.

Aforementioned closer “A Cold Empty Throne” ends the album with some somber riffage and solo and surprisingly well done clean vocals resulting in a perfect album end note. I actually would have liked to hear more of the clean vocal, and I don’t say that very often. Solid stuff.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 21st, 2018


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing