Angel Inside

Hailing from Belgium, newcomer Welkin brings death from below with their debut full-length, Angel Inside. Somehow reminding me of a perverted mid-paced mix between European and American death metal (with some metalcore elements thrown in), the music circles around the listener without losing direct eye contact. Just waiting for an opportunity to strike when the targeted poor bastard finally blinks an eye. At times, the band temporarily speeds up their rhythm, forcing the target to stay aware of Welkin’s every move in order to avoid any lethal surprises while the low end growls are unleashed to mock the victim’s slim chance of survival. Even when the 8 songs (forming the standard of 31 minutes) are not the most tightest or captivating to come out recently, they’re still able to form a solid album. Production is is stout and even slightly muddy; it suits the music perfectly and with tracks such as the opening “Angel Inside”, “La Masquerada” and the pummeling closure “Wonderland”, it is safe to believe that the possible live experience will be a lot more intense than what can be heard on the album. And whether or not my assumption is true, Welkin is something to keep your eyes focused on for possible future attacks.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Mikko K.
May 1st, 2003


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities