Fire Walk With Us

Italy’s Aborym formed in 1991, released a demo and broke up. The same members reformed the band in 1997 and released their debut album, Kali Yuga Bizarre in 1999. Fire Walk With Us is their second full-length, and the first to feature Attila Csihar, formerly of Mayhem, as permanent vocalist.

Thier aim is to break the boundaries between black and industrial/noise/techno. Nothing new here, since that seems to be the new Nordic black metal trend. This band could rival Mayhem in popularity eventually, and not because of Attila’s vocals. The sound quality is quite good, drums especially, and Attila’s vocals are lower pitched and more effective than during his stint in Mayhem. The electronic effects are distracting in places but for the most part fit in well.

This album will not “change everything and cleanse the ugly and dirty stagnation of modern society,” but get it anyway. Factor out the sound effects and what is left is quite interesting. For me, the best songs are the ones that are more traditional like “Love The Death As The Life” and the weak ones are those with the most effects like “There is No God” and “Theta Paranoia.” While not an album I will play much, it is one of the best industrial black albums I’ve heard, which is a style I usually do not much care for. If you are into the modern Norwegian scene definitely give this band a try.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
April 6th, 2001


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Kataan - Kataan EP
  • Feculent - The Grotesque Arena EP
  • Dead World Reclamation - Aura of Iniquity
  • Wythersake - Antiquity
  • Cambion - Conflagrate the Celestial Refugium
  • Mistweaver - Swansong
  • Beekeeper - Slaves to the Nothing
  • The Monolith Deathcult   - V3 - Vernedering
  • Agent Steel - No Other Godz Before Me
  • Vallendusk - Heralds of Strife
  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP
  • Becerus - Homo Homini Brutus
  • Zaratus - In The Days of Whore
  • Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes of Emptiness