Ad Nauseam
Nihil Quam Vacuitas Ordinatum

Italy’s Ad Nauseam have put out the best technical death metal album of the year.  Nihil Quam Vacuitas Ordinatum is the band’s debut and this is mind bending ultra brutal technical death metal.  Take aspects of Gorguts/Ulcerate and Gigan.  Catch my drift?  This is atmospheric, monolithic, avant garde and disturbing sounding death metal.  This makes your brain work in overload when figuring out the complex patterns and syncopated rhythms.

“Key to Timeless Laws” is the perfect example.  Mind bending chords and very catchy and some crazy guitar effects, like a violin at the 4 minute mark.  It’s like crazy music.  The rumbling double bass never letting up and the songs goes from madness, to blasting to atmospheric to pure unadulterated brutality.  Oh my sweet baby jesus, this tune rules.  “The Black Veil of Original Flaw” begins calm then gets into the mad brutality then back into the atmosphere and then into the syncopated beats.  And Ad Nauseam does this, while still being original and creating memorable songs.  This type of avant garde, technical death metal, for me is the hardest type of music for a band to make catchy.  But hell, these Italians know what the F they are doing!!

I can go on all day, but what’s the point?  This is the best tech brutal death metal album for 2015.  The pen drawn album cover is astonishing.  Holy crap, incredible layout.  People, folks of all ages-if you do not have Nihil Quam Vacuitas Ordinatum in your collection, but like the bands I mentioned above, then what the hell are you waiting for???  Buy or Die!!!!!!!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
December 8th, 2015


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP