An Envy of Innocence

Plying an up-tempo, melodic mix of Darkest Hour, God Forbid and Unearth, California’s Antagonist are competent, enjoyable and skilled, but still rather unoriginal.

Though arguably falling under the vast metalcore/American metal umbrella, Antagonist have a healthy does of modern tight, Euro thrash in their sound (sort of if Carnal Forge played metalcore), and deliver it with gusto if you can get past the piecemeal clean vocals and forced deep death metal growls that surface occasionally amid rather nonchalant breakdowns. The thing is, even though this album rips and rollicks admirably, and has enough twiddy solos and introspective injections to keep it varied, the actual nuts and bolts of the record, the riffs, never jump out at me despite their tight delivery.

 The cantering pace of tracks like opener “The Chaos We Breathe”, immediate “Unless”,”Liberation”, vitriolic “Eyes Wide Shut”, “Heal, My Wound” and melodic standout “Valor and Villainy” is broken up by the expected acoustic intro of the chunkier “Despiertate” and epic “Samsara”. The thing is, I’ve heard it before and heard it done better(and far worse mind you).

Antagonist is a pretty solid outfit, with an enjoyable, well produced debut, but far from ground breaking debut that lacks that special ‘it’ factor to make it truly stand out from a very crowded genre.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 8th, 2006


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Osiah - Loss
  • Mental Cruelty - A Hill To Die Upon
  • Laparotomy - Ascendancy through Hypnagogic Thought Process
  • Bodsysnatch - Instigate the Lunatics
  • Hannes Grossman - To Where the Light Retreats
  • Traumatomy - Extirpation Paradigms
  • In Asymmetry - Ashes of Dead Worlds
  • Feanor - Power of the Chosen One
  • Yellowtooth - The Burning Illusion
  • Fear Factory - Aggression Continuum
  • Bile - Sharks And Covid, Vol​.​1 / Children Of The Gun EP
  • Wednesday 13 - Necrophaze-Antidote EP
  • Iron Flesh - Summoning The Putrid LP
  • Blazon Rite - Endless Halls of Golden Totem
  • Endseeker - Mount Carcass