Lost In Focus

Though most think Metal Blade are more miss than hit with their recent metalcore offerings (i.e Phoenix Mourning, Machinemade God), their sub label, Ironclad have had a little more success (The Classic Struggle, If Hope Dies) and continue that with this debut album.

Though named after a bee farm, not a very metal moniker I’ll admit, Apiary deliver the type of angular but burlier Meshuggah-isms similar to the likes of A Life Once Lost, By Night, Brutal Fight and The Minor Times; that’s to say heaving, heavy and staggering metal that’s hard to bang your head to.

Music like this isn’t about songs, as to be truthful, Lost in Focus tends to blend into one long angular, jagged assault with Jason Ingram’s deep roar in accompaniment, but when taken as a whole, Lost in Focus is a bludgeoning jackhammer of counter rhythms and precise percussion that’s one of the better, and heavier examples of the genre I’ve heard. 

A few of the tracks manage to stand out due to the sheer heaviness on display though; ‘Descent’ (the last two minutes is just fucking brutal), the steam rolling ‘Omnipresence’, and the gargantuan yet restrained ‘Finding a Way Back’ were worth a revisit. Still though, the other tracks are no slouches as far as this form of technical beat down is concerned; ‘Pain is the Reason’, ‘Extract’, ‘Intervention’ and ‘Lustrum’ all deliver plenty of teeth gnashing, squeal heavy, lumbering throes.

Another solid offering from Ironclad that shows originality can be a tad overrated.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
May 2nd, 2006


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain
  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon