A Scanner Darkly
A Scanner Darkly EP

Add ‘Phillip K Dick-core’ or “Sci-Fi-core” to the ever growing sub genres of ‘core’ styled metal, and though I have not read the Philip K. Dick book of the same name, nor any of his other works, this noisy, sci-fi themed slab of noise is mighty impressive.

Essentially mixing the likes of Ed Gein and Pig Destroyer’s spastic post grind and angular DEP/Ion Dissonance math metal, A Scanner Darkly then throw in some ambient sci-fi tinged programming and samples to make the whole thing meld into one caustic, yet mechanical and harrowing display of modern noise.

How many modern ‘core’ bands have a 9 programmed/droning minute interlude (“Four Years, False Memories”) amid the expected spasms of screaming, jarring mountainous noise (“Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?”, “Pay for the Printer”, “Man in the High Castle”) and glacial, pummeling sludge (“VALIS”, “Flow My Tears, The Policeman Said”)? The atonal assault is precise yet chaotic, but snippets of Dick’s literature and a few unobtrusive beeps and whirs, keep things far from the expected noise-core structures and keep the listener’s attention.

I don’t expect Minnesota band to reside on Gilead Media for long as this 24 minute audition should set the likes of Hydra Head, Relapse and Robotic Empire on full notice for arguably the next big noise act.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
March 31st, 2006


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness