At Our Heels
Misanthropy and Godlessness

Miss Uphill Battle? Enjoy blackened hardcore or crust tinged blackened punk? Then check out the debut from this hungry San Francisco act who with their brief but feral Misanthropy and Godlessness, have delivered a half hour of urgent, enjoyable metal with vast crossover appeal.

Featuring an incredibly punchy Zach Ohren production, the album’s feedback littered tracks range from rough and tumble d beat lope (“Through their Teeth”, “Capture and Consume”) to more burly, blistering raucous numbers (“Kicking Rocks”, “Unholy”, thrashing standout “The Recluse”, “The Waiting Game”) with a punk meets thrash back bone. The black element comes from some of the tremolo picked melodies and the high pitched vocals. The power chords dance with an intense burn, but manage to keep things interesting with some clever layering and bristling harmonies.

There’s even few scrawling, sludgy moments (i.e. “Graves”, “Rituals”) to break up the album’s slathering, snarling prose. Plus, in part due to the production, the whole affair has a tenacious, infectious energy that’s tangible and full of honest, youthful vigor that bodes well for future releases.

Definitely recommended for fans of Pulling Teeth, Protestant, Infernal Stronghold and such, and another little gem from Creator –Destructor Records. But how long before they sign with Prosthetic Records?

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 27th, 2010


  1. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    this sounds like exactly what I’d like.

  2. Commented by: JH DOOM

    This style is becoming the “next big thing”. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Dismalimerence, Nurez, Olim, The Wolf Garden - Recurrence
  • Eldritch Horror - At the Altar of Death EP
  • Deathspell Omega - The Long Defeat
  • Enragement - Atrocities
  • Undeath - It’s Time… To Rise from the Grave
  • And Hell Followed With - Quietus
  • The Dark Overlords - Darkpocalypse EP
  • Day Of Doom - Doomed
  • Static Abyss - Labyrinth of Veins
  • Feral Light - Psychic Contortions
  • Ad Infinem Omnia - No Peace - No Dawn
  • Katharos - Of Lineages Long Forgotten
  • Sentient Horror - Rites of Gore
  • Downfall of Mankind - Vile Birth
  • Disfuneral - Blood Red Tentacle