Vocalist Christian Rivel (real name Christian Liljegren) has made quite a mark in the last 16 years. As a founding member of Narnia (7 albums), Divinefire (4 albums), Wisdom Call (1 album), Modest Attraction (2 albums) and Flagship (1 album)―not to mention his label Rivel Records―he’s racked up quite a discography. Yet another band/project fronted by Mr. Liljegren is Audiovision, who have now released their second album Focus.

Audiovision play a familiar style of Swedish Melodic Power Metal in the vein of Lion’s Share, Hammerfall, and Dream Evil. There are plenty of shredding guitars, melodic choruses, strong, soaring vocals and headbanging tempos. Songs like “Invited”, “Keep The Fire Burning”, “We Are Not Alone”, and “We Will Go” are fine examples of this. They don’t deliver anything new, but that’s not the point of Audiovision. The point is to bring the Metal, and bring it they do. Power ballad “Fruit Of Love” has a cool Scorpions vibe about it ala “Still Loving You”. There is also a decent cover/reworking of Stryper‘s “The Way” which is also indicitive of the album’s lyrical content.

So what Audiovision offer us is a classic sounding Melodic Metal record packed with all the musical elements that lover’s of the genre will expect. Fans of any of the bands I mentioned here should no doubt enjoy it. It’s very “up front” Christian lyrical stance may end up alienating some Metal fans, but it will no doubt gather some new ones in the process.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
March 16th, 2010


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory