Bloody Hammers
Bloody Hammers

Doom/stone metal is typically a subgenre of the metal scene that fans either take or leave. There are some kickass bands in the scene like Fu Manchu, Monster Magnet, Trouble, Down, Sleep and, of course, Kyuss and Black Sabbath. The troubling aspect of the genre is that most of the bands all sound like one another (thankfully none of the black metal bands sound anything like their counterparts) and North Carolina’s Bloody Hammers fall into that trap.

Sporting fuzzed out guitars and simplistic drums coupled with stoned-out/spooky vocals, Bloody Hammers hits the target right in the bullseye as to what they’re supposed to sound like. With lyrics based around the occult and horror, Bloody Hammers gets the doom/stoner job done on their self-title debut album.

There’s a lot to like on Bloody Hammers if you’re a fan of the genre. Slower, catchy songs with choruses that are simple and fun to digest are the norm. The production is clean, though it has an eerie, haunting vibe to it. Though it’s polished through and through, the mix was able to retain the band’s live vibe so it sounds like you’re in the rehearsal space with the band. That is always a huge plus and usually works well with bands of this ilk. Doom/stoner bands are supposed to sound live and organic so Bloody Hammers gets another nod of approval in their favor.

In the end, Bloody Hammers is an easy listen, one that is a perfect alternative for those who primarily listen to the barbarity of death/black/grind/etc. The drawback is that Bloody Hammers as a band don’t offer anything mind-blowing and they’ve certainly not come close to reinventing anything with their music. Still, it’s a quality release, especially for a debut after being a fully-functioning band for only a year.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Mike Sloan
May 9th, 2013


  1. Commented by: Juan Manuel Pinto

    Love this little bit in the review:

    (thankfully none of the black metal bands sound anything like their counterparts)

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Cianide - Unhumanized EP
  • Abhomine - Proselyte Parasite Plague
  • Porta Nigra - Schöpfungswut
  • Abigail WIlliams - Walk Beyond the Dark
  • Suicide Silence - Become the Hunter
  • Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
  • Hell:On/Pripjat - A Glimpse Beyond (Split)
  • Silvertomb - Edge of Existence
  • Necropanther - The Doomed City
  • Lorna Shore - Immortal
  • Ian Blurton Future Now - Signals Through the Flames
  • Voice of Ruin - Acheron
  • Inverted Matter - Detach
  • Marrasmieli - Between Land and Sky
  • Infirmity - Descendants of Sodom