Bring Me the Horizon
This is what the Edge of Your Seat Was Made For EP

So, in light of Earache recently re-releasing the hugely hyped yet stunningly average debut, Count Your Blessings, from this suddenly popular Yorkshire men, Earache have re-issued the debut EP (both originally released on 30 Days of Night and Visible Music respectively) that got the band signed to Earache in the first place. Yup, I smell a cash in.

The only real benefit is that these are four different songs as none of them appear on Count Your Blessings, so if you absolutely crave by the numbers squawking, growling cheap At The Gates riffs littered deathcore with breakdowns played by asexual emo Englishmen who seemingly have an endless supply of hoodies and girly Ts for sale, then go for it.

The 4 tracks (“They Have No Reflections”, “Who Wants Flowers When You’re Dead”, “Rawwwrr” and “Traitors Never Play Hangman”) are mindlessly uncreative and as you’d expect, are breakdown reliant as is their debut album, but par for the course as far as the genre is concerned. Basically though, BMTH are the slightly heavier (yet somehow more effeminate looking) equivalent of Bullet For My Valentine, meaning they’ve taken a US dominated style, sucked in the UK press and fans and now seem poised for international stardom.

At times I actually think BMTH is like the metalcore version of Cradle of Filth-a group of rather talentless Goth dicks riding the coattails of another country’s genre and gaying it up for commercial success.

For shame.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 15th, 2007


  1. Commented by: Jason

    It’s 2am and I’m bored, the only reason I’m reading a review of BMTH because I don’t give a shit about them, just wanted to say that “talentless Goth dicks riding the coattails of another country’s genre and gaying it up for commercial success” is the best description of CoF I’ve ever heard.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Replicant - Infinite Mortality
  • Zombi - Direct Inject
  • Mastiff - Deprecipice
  • Wristmeetrazor - Degeneration
  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP