The Weiliaon Wielder Quest (Reissue)

This Belgian band has been around since the late 80’s and The Weiliaon Wielder Quest came out in 1995.  Marquee Records, under the care of Armando Pereira, has brought this obscure album back into the light.  I never heard of this band and they have three other albums.  This is their debut and the music is death metal with some epic qualities.  The band loves long song titles too.  Check out “Vision for the Morrigan / Praseodymium”??  Anyway, the ? were from me.  I’m like huh?  Anyway the tune has a fair amount of blast beats and nice fuzzy guitars.  The snare drum really pops and cuts through a lot, it can get a little irritating at times.  “The Whimsical Crafts of Enchantment” has some spoken word moments and has some fast parts and stays in a groove for a fair amount of the song.  Some nice ambience and mellower moments at the 2 minute mark.  Some excellent guitar riffs as well which are at times are a bit drowned out by the vocalist who has a loud mix with the album.

“With a Dragon’s Blaze on Their Banners” has a bit of a classic metal edge to the song structure and gets into a little sabbath like doom.  The clean vocals are washed out for added effect until the death metal moments kick in.  I personally think the classic metal parts should have continued.  There are some spoken word moments and some of the classic metal moments are cool.  One thing is Caducity sure throws a lot at the listener.  Lots of time changes and by and large with the different genres of death metal, classic metal and doom I was hard pressed to find a band that they sounded like.  I really cannot lead you in any direction.

For one thing this is very original. “The Witches’ Desire” begins with an isolated guitar riff and then the drums coming in and they sound pretty cool.  Good double bass drumming and now I know what this band sounds like.  More like a garage band type of feel.  Regardless this track has a nice little fast blast beat and lots of screams and growls.  The song meanders into some more atmospheric moments which have a bit of an epic feel to them.  There are spoken clean vocals as well.

I am unsure if Caducity knew the direction they were going in with The Weiliaon Wielder Quest.  The songs have super long titles and the music goes from death metal to doom, to classic metal.  While I enjoy the melding of the genres it’s tough to sometimes get into the music when an abrupt spoken word moment comes ripping through your speakers and you were expecting more of the music to continue.  This was licensed from Shiver Records and the remastering was handled by Sidney Sohn, Jr.  and he enhances the music and rights the ship.  The layout is excellent and contains lyrics.  Caducity are a little too out there for me, but they are very original.  If you’re into some of the items I discussed check out this reissue.


[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
August 29th, 2018


  1. Commented by: E. Thomas

    I loved this and the Stentorian when they came out

  2. Commented by: StevhanTI

    Awesome that this is being reissued. Being Belgian and teenager in the days this was released it was actually one of my gateway albums into extreme metal!I assume ‘Whirler of Fate’ will follow suit. The latter two albums are with a different singer (the original In-Quest vocalist) and have more of a Bolt Thrower vibe to them. And in case you haven’t already, the first two In-Quest albums also offer some highly original Death Metal from roughly the same time and region.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP
  • Chaos Sanctuary - Instrumentality
  • Mega Colossus - Showdown
  • Mind Conflict - Temple of God
  • Necrowretch - Swords of Dajjal
  • Wolves of Perdition - Ultra-Violence
  • Sovereign - Altered Realities