Dead Man's Hand
The Combination

Dead Man’s Hand hail from Norway, play a modern sort of European death/thrash, and The Combination is the bands debut full-length. It’s not much of a stretch to compare them to early period The Haunted, Dew-Scented or Hatesphere, but it’s probably a little too soon to be including them in that same class of ass-kicking, deathly thrash.

Opening with the just over 2 minutes “Capaci Bomb”, they lay it out there and keep trucking through the albums 10 tracks with head down and fists up. Occasionally they mix up the breakneck speeds with some mid paced groove and chunk (“The Last Stand”, and at least parts of nearly every song) or some melody (“Hostile Respect”, “Castigate”, “Knuckledusted”) that strongly recalls The Haunted.

Dead Man’s Hand are not a bad band – their powers of emulation are kinda impressive on “Bloodstained Hands” and the title track (Hatesphere), “Castigate”, “Guillotine” (The Haunted) – but it’s going to take more than some simple copy and paste tactics to stand out from the crowd and turn a few heads, especially in their genre. For what it’s worth though, they’re a fairly enjoyable listen if you like the aforementioned bands.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Larry "Staylow" Owens
January 5th, 2010


  1. Commented by: Erik Thomas

    “The Last Stand” is a pretty fuckin study track, been spinning it alot. not so much the rest of the album

  2. Commented by: Staylow

    Yeah, the album has it’s moments, that track being one particular standout. Not bad, not great. I’m interested to see where they go from here.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP