Grey Everlasting

This review has had several different openings (like your mom). At first, I was disappointed with the new Deathwhite. Maybe it’s because of lofty expectations, being a big fan of their previous gothic-tinged doom. Think modern Katatonia with better choruses. Yeah, I said it. However, after a very short amount of time, I found myself humming several hooks and wondered if maybe this is a sneaky album of the year contender.

While I don’t think that’s the case, I am glad to report this is another excellent addition to the Deathwhite discography. There are some flaws, however. For example, in the first real track, “Earthtomb,” we get some speedy black metal, but it doesn’t last long before the tempo slows almost to a crawl. In the absence of what this band does better than their peers, an excellent hook, this first track is disappointing.

Luckily, the hooks do pick up on the next several tracks, “No Thought or Memory,” “Quietly, Suddenly,” and “Grey Everlasting.” The best of which is on the second of that trio, “Quietly, Suddenly.” These tracks are also where the guitar work stands out the most in the weeping, gothic lead sections. Unfortunately, these tracks, while excellent, also collectively show faults. Those being the over-repetition of the refrains. Even in songs barely over 4 minutes, it makes it seem as if maybe they go on a little too long.

Sorry, Deathwhite. I still love you, baby.

Moving forward on track 6, “White Sleep,” which has recently been released as a single, is promoted to explore new ground, especially vocally. While it is heavier, relatively speaking, that vocal experimentation comes in the form of some roars/shouts about 3 minutes in and doesn’t last long before we get another chorus. Another excellent one, of course.

Way further on, you have the close “Asunder,” which is the longest track because of fucking course it is. It has a great guitar melody and another stellar vocal performance. I wish they would have utilized the stomping riff/tempo slightly over 4 minutes in more in the album, but I suppose that’s also what makes the sections it does exist more unique.

Overall, 11 songs in 48 minutes aren’t bad and this is far from an exhausting listen for me. However, thinking of others, I can see this being a chore as the tempo rarely varies and when it does, it’s not for long. While what these guys do well, as mentioned above, is write excellent hooks, and there’s certainly an abundance of them here, I’m not quite sure it’s going to be enough to please and/or bring in any new fans from this genre. While this is still good, I’m sorry to say it’s, unfortunately, a small step down from their previous recordings.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by J Mays
July 20th, 2022


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP
  • Necropanther - Oblivion Jones: A Tale of False Consciousness EP
  • Sarcasm - Mourninghoul
  • Satanic North - Satanic North
  • Stygian Crown - Funeral for a King
  • Desolus - System Shock
  • Korpiklaani - Rankarumpu