Defeated Sanity
Psalms Of the Moribund

Taking more than a huge nod from Suffocation as well as the likes of Devourment, Decrepit Birth, Gorgasm and other more brutal, technical US death metal bands, Germany’s Defeated Sanity have delivered a second album of appropriately sick and gore filled technical brutality (brootek death metal?).

With ultra deep, almost grindcore core styled burps layered over complex yet savage riffs, Defeated Sanity, unlike some of their US peers, do manage to throw in some nice grooves and lurches amid the blasting carnage (i.e. “Hideously Disembodied”, Butchered Identity”), hence the Suffocation and Devourment comparisons, but otherwise, Psalms of the Moribund is a pretty breakneck assault of squealing, pinch harmonics and ravenous blast beats (“Engorged With Humiliation”, “Arousal Through Punishment”, “Artifacts of Punishment”). It’s not going to change death metal as it isn’t a true ‘technical’ death metal album per say, and the vocals are utterly monotone, but as far as mixing earthy slabs of groove with a more complex voracity, much like country mates Despondency, Defeated Sanity have the balance just right.

Production wise, things are decent, not great and there’s a primal, early 90’s muddiness to the guitar tone, but the drums are a bit ‘clicky’ (not nearly as bad as say, Disavowed ) so the two colliding makes for a unstable overall sound, but otherwise, based on the music alone, Psalms of the Moribund is a solid entry into the genre that should satiate most fans of deviant death metal.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by E. Thomas
October 1st, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. Your post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and maybe held up for further approval. We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Opprobrium - The Fallen Entities
  • In Shadows and Dust - Enlightened By Darkness
  • Rotting Christ - The Heretics
  • Nordjevel   - Necrogenesis
  • Asphodelus - Stygian Dreams
  • Gomorrah - Gomorrah
  • Equipoise - Demigurgus
  • Six of Swords - Regime Decay/Polar Vortex
  • The Scars in Pneuma - The Path of Seven Sorrows.
  • Fallujah - Undying Light
  • Destruction - Sentence of Death/Infernal Overkill/Eternal Devastation (Reissues)
  • Battle Beast - No More Hollywood Endings
  • Cold Colors - Northernmost
  • Soen - Lotus
  • Contrarian - Their Worm Never Dies