Predator Reign

Ever wonder what it would sound like if Angel Corpse and Dark Funeral spat forth some sort of infernal Black Death hybrid that aggressively mean and just down right nasty.  Sweden’s Degial’s third full length effort Predator Reign is savage listen that wastes no time in pummeling the listener right off the bat.   Opening up with the title track, “Predator Reign” which starts off with feedback and distorted vocal tracks into the opening riff which is dissonant followed by whammy dives and an off filtered second guitar line with ferocious picking.

“The Savage Covenant” feels more like a traditional Swedish black metal track from with a memorable mid paced styled tremolo riff over blistering double kick drum patterns.  These guys do an excellent job mixing up the death and black metal elements.  There is enough variety going and I cannot say that there are any tracks on this that are not catchy. “Crown of Fire” is one of the more technical tracks on the album and has more of a chaotic old school Morbid Angel feel. The breakdown towards the end sounds like it could have come right off Blessed Are the Sick. “Devil Spawn” is probably my favorite track on the album.  The opening riff is banger and might be the catchiest riff on the album.  Again, the old Morbid Angel influence is on point.  I like that Degial don’t really mess around with frilly, intricate guitar solos.  There definitely are some but in the vein of old school Slayer and Possessed.  Degial remind me a bit of Iron Bonehead Recording artists Ritualization. Ritualization also released an amazing album this year, Sacraments of the Sons of the Abyss.  If you are into Angel Corpse my take is you will like both bands greatly

“Hellstorm” has a bevy of tremolo dives with wah effects ((Eat your heart out Trey Azagthoth and Kerry King).  If there is one track on this album that is the most death metal sounding it would definitely be this one as it sounds like it could have come from numerous different influences.  Degial does an excellent job of mixing up all of the essential Black Death elements while retaining a cold vibe at times. “Annihilation Banner” opens with a cool drum section followed by more trashiness. It appears these guys are going to be touring the west coast in March as direct support for Watain and Destroyer 666.  I could only imagine what that would look and smell like. If you get the chance to see the tour message me and let me know how it is!

Production wise, all instrumentation is very clear and balanced for how evil this is supposed to be. One thing is for sure this album rips and I encourage all of you to check out this elite beast. ”Clangor of Subjugation” which just so happens to be the longest track of the album.  There is no shortage of catchy riffs to finish up Predator Reign. The album then slows down to a very nice layered outro. Both guitarists are doing their own thing while building and building into a unique finish.  Just when I think I am done reviewing 2017 albums i keep finding winners. Horns way up for this.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Nick K
January 17th, 2018


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold