Hunting Heretics EP

Germany’s Demonbreed hit the heavy home run on their 2016 debut album, Where Gods Come to Die.  Bludgeoning Swedish inspired death metal heaviness and a well-written album through and through.  So while the underground waits with bated breath for album #2, Demonbreed provides a little taste with an ep in the form of Hunting Heretics.  Available as digital download or in cd format–though limited to only 300 hand numbered copies.  I was happy to get #284.  “Fear the Verdict” begins this 5 song 20 minute ep.  First thing noticeable is the bludgeoning heaviness of their debut album is scaled back a bit.  The production is clearer and cleaner, but lacking is that over-the-top  guitar heaviness.  Don’t get me wrong Demonbreed’s HM-2’s brand of Swede death metal is still heavy as a tank, just missing a few treads this time around.  The song is a slow pounder with some stop/start riffing.  The 2.20” part is a perfect example of this where the tune then rips into a mid-paced rumbling which Bolt Thrower would be proud of.  The song enters into more melodic territory towards the end.  Good growling as well.

“Deadly Superstition” has a little more up tempo beat with quite a good break at the 1.35” which is heavy, but not devoid of melody.  The isolated guitar riff at the 1.58” part is the Holy Shit part when soon enough the rest of the instruments erupt and with a well-placed growl this mid-paced section is excellent.  Above average guitar soloing and then the song ends the way it pretty much started, with excellent double bass.  The title track ends the ep with a killer Bolt Thrower inspired opening which could have been on The IVth Crusade and the song enters more of a meaty slow part with some great chanting growl parts.  This part returns again midway into the song.  I love how the guitar riff and undercurrent of bass heaviness permeates at the 2.35” section.  This is the strongest section of the ep and even harkens back to Grave’s You’ll Never See era, really well constructed section.

The other 2 songs are also good.  “Confessions in Fire”, continuing with mid-paced rumbling heaviness and “Suprema” the song which really brings the speed.  Throw in a little blasts here and there and the song truly rips.  This is my second favorite song on the ep.  So there you have it.  Decent ep, missing some of the heavy brutality that was evident on their debut album and the songs on Hunting Heretics are more streamlined.  On their debut album the band experimented with some spoken word type of vocals interwoven into some of the more brutal moments and it worked so great, creating an epic quality which I would love to have return for album #2, since it’s missing on this ep.  The digipack is thin and has a very cool cover design which reminds me of a slow-burn 1970’s horror movie poster.  Lyrics are printed on the inside of the panel.   This is a pretty cool limited edition cd ep Demonbreed has released.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Frank Rini
February 1st, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Stellar Remains - Wastelands EP
  • Acrid Death - Abominable Presence of Blight
  • Apparition - Fear the Apparition
  • Morta Skuld - Creation Undone
  • House of Atreus - Orations EP
  • Spectral Voice - Sparagmos
  • Hellman - Born, Suffering, Death
  • Blood Red Throne - Nonagon
  • Hulder - Verses In Oath
  • Ghoul - Noxious Concoctions EP
  • Chaos Sanctuary - Instrumentality
  • Mega Colossus - Showdown
  • Mind Conflict - Temple of God
  • Necrowretch - Swords of Dajjal
  • Wolves of Perdition - Ultra-Violence