Devin Townsend Project

Ecclectic. If any one word was to embody the musical mad scientist that is Devin Townsend, that would be it. This newest creation, under the Devin Townsend Project moniker, is about as far from Strapping Yonng Lad as we can get, and yet, its every bit as intriguing and infectious.

What Hevy Devy has given us this time around is a more laid back affair unlike anything I can recall from him. I hear a lot of Post Rock in the textures here, sort of like something Dredg or Sigur Ros would do if they joined forces with King Crimson. Then the natural curve balls pop up like the Simon & Garfunkel laced “Quiet Riot” (I’ll let you discover why it’s called that) and the Carl Perkins/Elvis Presley stomp of “Trainfire” (this track doesn’t stay this way, but it takes up the first few minutes of the song). “Distuptr” shows strong signs of that Robert Fripp influence I alluded to earlier (and even a little bit of King’s X). The middle of this tune (as well as “Gato” after it) showcases one of the albums more noisy/aggressive moments as well.

The album as a whole is an enjoyable slice of experimental, Progressive Rock music worthy of attention from not only Devin fans, but fans of the unusual and ambitious. Well worth seeking out and picking up.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
May 25th, 2009


  1. Commented by: AARONIUS

    This album is brilliant.

    I find it funny that everyone who is reviewing it and interviewing Devin about it are saying it’s such a departure from what he’s done in the past though. If any of them have ever listened to any of his previous output (yes, even SYL) you can hear the sound that he has been perfecting ever since he started recording his own music.

    I cannot wait to hear the other 3 discs in this project.

    Way to go Devin, kudos on cleaning up also.

  2. Commented by: dr_neo_cortex

    I love this cd I’m listening to it now. I agree it does sound different from most of his other work, but then again every new album has its own unique identity and sound. I’m excited for the the rest of the DTP cds too, especially Deconstruction ;)

  3. Commented by: Dimaension X

    I also think it sounds a bit different than his other stuff, too. Better. Sure there are similarities, but this one is just better, songwise, production-wise, attitude, etc.

  4. Commented by: RamEEz

    This is why it is called a PROJECT because Devin has experimented and tried to do a different kinda music. Its not what Devin used to do but hey its an Experiment.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream