Infernal Rise EP

So Candlelight has signed a Deathcore band? Though it initially seemed a bit ‘trendy’ to me, but to their credit in Kansas’s Diskreet, they have found a solid act that delivers the goods.

Licensed from the UK’s Siege of Amida Records and having 2 bonus tracks, Infernal Rise is exactly what you would expect from a modern deathcore outfit; a mix of blasting death metal, some chaotic grind, technical convulsions, breakdowns, dual growled/screamed vocals, etc. It’s all been done to death, but Diskreet have the same ‘it’ factor as bands like All Shall Perish, Despised Icon, As Blood Runs Black, The Faceless, Dying Fetus, Beneath The Massacre and such-that’s to say they do it rather well.

Sin City samples aside, the music is pummeling, tight and visceral. Drummer Andy Taylor is the backbone of the band and his tight delivery gives the overall sound something far better than many of the sloppy myspace deathcore bands out there. It’s obvious this lot practice their art and are simply more than a hobby. Standout tracks “Entrails” and “Faust” rumble and lurch with menace free from trite themes and lyrics, and with an ample mix of fervent tenacity and huge grooves.

The two ‘bonus’ tracks blend in with the EP’s previous 5 tracks and don’t come across as simply demos or shoddy re-workings of old songs tacked on the end. The end result is 7 songs of stern, above average technical deathcore that’s more in depth and destructive than half the lame burp and breakdown, kiddie core out there nowadays.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 19th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry
  • Ingested - The Tide of Death and Fractured Dreams
  • Shaving the Werewolf - God Whisperer EP
  • Alestorm - Voyage of the Dead Marauder EP
  • Kólga - Black Tides
  • Aborted - Vault of Horrors
  • Memento Mori - Memento Mori
  • Malphas - Portal