Zu Richten

OK Mighty Music, THIS is more like it!!!!!!!!!!

After a slew of awful rock, Mighty Music has released something that I more expect from the label. Some chunky, beefy European death metal by way of Austria’s Epsilon (formerly known as Side Y)and their second full length album.

These guys are new to me, but I like what they are doing on Zu Richten. Its a form of high octane melodic death metal glazed with with a Swedish mid range buzz, which is always good. I get a bit of a Deranged (circa the s/t release in 20010 vibe as the riffs are often super vast, veering into more brutal faster, death metal realms, but containing some blistering, tighter, thrashing melodies, d beat rumbles and grooves that all at once remind me of KonkerorDew Scented or The Netherlands’  I.N.R.I.

The end result is a damn salty 45 minute, 11 song slab of death metal that’s satiates a couple of genre paradigms very well. The vocals are a gruff growl and higher pitch rasp, nothing too ‘broodle’, but not too wimpy or purely NWSDM, and there are no keys or clean vocals, keeping things squarely more brutal. But the strength of the album is the riffs, tons and tons of riffs. melodic, but burly and with that slight Swedish buzz to give them some heft and weight.  Take “I Shall Feast on the Flesh of My Enemies”, one of the album’s standouts, which kicks all sorts of ass around 1:47, or  carefully paced “Torn  Apart by the Righteous Animals of this World”.

But the guys can change it up. There’s some playful fun moments buried in the intensity as well such as “Ein zarter Hauch von Menschlichkeit” or wah wah solos on “Can They Suffer?” and even some djenty -ness buried inv “Nutzmensch Agonie” and he penultimate track, “Die Schuld Des Lebens” in a rangy 7 minute affair. There’s even some moodiness  in interlude “In Nammen Gottes”, as the album winds down the intenssity a little for its last quarter or so.

In truth, this might be Mighty Musics’ best release in a loooooong time and almost makes me forgive the likes of The Grumpynators, Fried Okra  Band, Franklin Zoo, Bullet Train Blast, See the Sky, Black Book Lodge and Egonaut.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
August 24th, 2015


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Black Hole Deity - Profane Geometry
  • Todesstoss - Das Liebweh-Dekret
  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal