Score to a New Beginning

With thier 3rd release for Austria’s Napalm label, French Symphonic Metallers Fairyland have delivered an absolutely fantastic album. Score To A New Beginning is loaded down with soaring, melodic vocals, epic keyboard/string layers, huge choirs, speedy drumming and ripping, virtuouso guitars.

Led by keyboardist and sole composer Phillippe Giordana, Fairyland hold high the flame of Symphonic Metal in the grand traditions of Symphony X, Rhapsody (Of Fire), Adagio and others. With little nods to Prog Metal and Neo-Classical Metal as well, this album really comes through on everything one would expect from the genre itself. Surprisingly however, I find a lack of triteness. Let’s be honest, Metal of this type, as masterful as it is to execute, does tend to drift into the cheesy side of things. Yet, with Fairyland, I find a more honest, sincere vibe about it. “Across The Endless Sea (Part II)” and “Assault On The Shore” are a grand one-two punch to kick off the album (after the obligatory opening symphony theme). These two are packed to the rafters with all of what makes the genre great. The vocals in “Master Of The Waves” are great…full of fire and passion.

There is really no need to go into the details of every song. Anyone reading this can envision how this sounds…just imagine it without the “frillyness”. Melodic Power Metal with loads of symphonic layering and a good deal of intensity. This album surprised me in a good way and I’m glad I’ve now had the privilege. If you’re into the genre, or just a fan of well executed Metal, check it out.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
June 12th, 2009


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Incursion - The Hunter EP
  • Sarvekas - Of Atavistic Fury & Visions EP
  • Marasmus - Necrotic Overlord
  • Aylwin - The Arch Holder
  • GWAR - Scumdogs of The Nniverse 30th Anniversary Remix
  • Old Growth - Mossweaver
  • Frozen Soul - Crypt of ice
  • Buried - Oculus Rot
  • Wolves Den - Miserere
  • Evil - Possessed By Evil
  • Hulder - Godslastering: Hymns of a Forlorn Peasantry
  • Yoth Iria - As The Flame Withers
  • Harakiri For The Sky - Mære
  • Gatecreeper - An Unexpected Reality EP
  • Eternal Autumn - To Tame The Impaler EP