Being one of the most undeniably experimental genres running right now, Black Metal has taken quite a growth spurt in the past few years. It has become so empirical that it’s hard to like the sub-par bands. Mediocre or not, Farsot’s debut full-length IIII is solid and shows some potential for future releases.

The band verges on a progressive approach with similarities to Helrunar in their sharp piercing riffs and excellent production. The sound is raw and organic despite the production and the band portrays a very dark and ambient tone at times. Acoustic passages are likely throughout the disc. Vocally, the cold screams and screeches of 10.XIXt are key in most of the ambient areas, and yes, that is the fucker’s name. Apparently Farsot is known for using codes to name themselves and their releases. Mysterious or idiotic, you be the judge.

The progressive touch is attendant in songs like “Themathik: Trauer,” a song that takes up most of the album in length and utilizes many depressive tones ala Shining to create one hell of a track. There are scream like cries in this song that are completely uncomfortable and disturbing. Not the most original thing, but holding strong.

The main thing wrong with this record is the fact that nothing sticks. I doubt that many black metal band members give a shit about catchiness, but it sure helps if you remember what you just heard. Possibly future experience will help this. The key with this band is the potential.

When there is plenty worse out there, Farsot gives one hell of a good try at creating something exceptional. If you’re not super anal about your Black Metal I suggest checking into IIII. I for one will keep an eye peeled for these guys in the future.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shane Wolfensberger
December 13th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream