Pain Parade

Vocalist Andreas Hedlund, also known as the infamous Mr. V or Vintersorg, is probably the busiest man I can think of in Metal music. His ever-lengthening discography always seems to impress me in some fashion, though his style is an acquired taste at times. His bands Borknagar and Vintersorg alone are regarded as some of the best art/progressive/black/folk music to ever grace metal and I personally feel that is deserved. The amount of material this guy produces is astonishing workmanship, releasing multiple records a year. He is a visionary and if he keeps creating music he will one day create a masterpiece. His talents are in multiple projects including Otyg, Vintersorg, Havayoth, Borknagar, Fission, Waterclime, Cronian, Gravisphere, and new things always seem to pop up. This sophomore release form Fission, Pain Parade, is a real winner and it’s one of the best records I have heard this year.

Fission’s concept is an abstract, prog -laced, version of melodic death metal, though Pain Parade takes things to another level compared to 2005’s Crater. Pain Parade is honestly, one of the best records I have ever heard come out of Andreas catalog. This is very accessible sound that will set nicely with fans of Opeth, In Flames, Soilwork, Enslaved, and obviously Vintersorg and Borknagar. There’s even room for the Ensiferum, Eluveitie, Pagan metal fans in this record. Astonishingly, this all comes together and delivers in spades along with an organic and honest feel. There is no doubt, however, that there are some serious progressive undertones in this music ala Dream Theater, Porcupine Tree, and Andromeda.

Vocally, Vintersorg is on top of his game. A blackened rasp fills the aggressive edge of Fission reminiscent of the Gothenburg days. Clear and pretty nasty, the vocals are awesome, only to break for melodic, harmonized sections, with textured acoustics and beautifully sung melodies. Check out “Dear Frenzy!” for an amazing section towards the end.

Benny Hagglund, also of TME, is the man behind the music though, playing everything on this record from Drums, to bass, and guitar. His skills cannot be denied and the construction of these songs is phenomenal.

All the songs on Pain Parade have something to offer and this should be noticed by many as an excellent record for 2009 thus far. One thing’s for sure, Mr. V doesn’t seem to be slowing down. He’s only getting better and more inventive. Check this out!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shane Wolfensberger
February 9th, 2009


  1. Commented by: bast

    Looking foward to get these.

  2. Commented by: ceno

    To my shame, I have yet to get familliar with anything by this guy. I’ll definitely check it out as this sounds right up my alley. Excellent review!

  3. Commented by: stiffy

    Ceno, I would think this guys stuff is all you.

  4. Commented by: bast

    Looking foward to get THIS. Pardon my english.

  5. Commented by: Staylow

    I liked what I heard on their myspace page. I got a bit of Scar Symmetry vibe from some of it.

  6. Commented by: jk666

    Gotta get this one from Mr. V. The only one of his bands that didn’t grab me was Waterclime.

  7. Commented by: axiom

    Nice review, seems like high quality stuff. I guess I’m in the minority though in thinking Mr. V is pretty overrated.

  8. Commented by: stiffy

    I can see where his style won’t fit everyone. There are times when I can’t handle his voice.

  9. Commented by: Staylow

    So I finally got to hear this in full and all I can say is wow – excellent stuff. Sounds like a cross between Scar Symmetry and newer Amorphis.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream