The Gatherer of Fear and Blood

I’ll go ahead and assume that Germany’s Godskill is named after killing Gods, and not the skill said God possesses. Anyway, what we have here is a late 2018 release that is a pretty solid second album from these burly melodic death metalers.

Imbuing the chunky Danish scene akin to Illdisposed, Corpus Mortale, Dawn of Disease and such with a bit of Hypocrisy thrown in and an bit more brutal traditional death metal to boot, The Gatherer of Fear and Blood is 8 tracks and 35 minutes of impressive Jens Bogren (do I really need to list all the big names bands he has put his mix/master stamp on?) mixed/mastered European death metal that hits all the right neck snapping spots.

You get it all here; from the massive militant chug of “The Shell”, burly mid-paced, melodic trundle of  “Demon Mother”  to faster blasters like the fierce opener “The Eleven Kills the Ten”, title track or closer “Becoming A God”, as well an introspective interlude by way of “Preliminary Invocation” and even a little dash of well used, subtle female vocals on the background of otherwise savage standout “Ungodly is the Flesh”.  All delivered with big crunchy guitars, hefty, dense drums, some nice melodic leads and the powerful deep growls of guitarist/vocalist Carsten Quadel, who keeps things a little more in brutal realms.

In all, a nice late 2018 surprise from a band I need to go hear more from and also look forward to hearing more from in the near future.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 10th, 2019


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP