Quantos Possunt Ad Satanitatem Trahunt

“Rebirth of Gorgorooooooooth!!!!”

It’s fitting that after all the legal and personal issues that have plagued this Norwegian stalwart black metal band over the last few years, that the third track has returning vocalist Pest spit out this line during the aptly named third track, “Rebirth”

Truth be told, I’ve never been a huge fan of the bands work, as they seemed to be just a step behind some of their bigger named peers (Marduk, Dark Funeral, Immortal etc) but on this, the band’s eighth album, an album following a long year of legal wrangling with former members Gaahl and King ov Hell, I am finally starting to hear a band that I enjoy. Of course, one could argue that this really isn’t ‘true’ Gorgoroth persay, with Infernus being the only lone original member and without Gaahl and Kig Ov Hell, but either way, Quantos Possunt ad Satanitatem Trahunt is a damn solid album.

What surprised me about Quantos Possunt ad Satanitatem Trahunt is that its not a sheer, frosty or wall of sound blast-fest but a rather robust, mid paced album that relies on steady pacing and control. Sure, a few blasts pop up here and there in there tremolo fueled fury (“Aneuthanasia”, “Building a Man”, standout epic closer “Satan Prometheus”), but for the most part the album marches with a grim militaristic gait. The bass of Boddel (Obituary’s Frank Watkins) and steady double bass of former Dark Funeral drummer Tomas Asklund give the album a hefty backbone rather than the rather reedy thin sound that some black metal has ( I’m looking at you Immortal’s All Shall Fall).

The pulsing, deliberate pace of tracks like “Prayer”, almost doom laden “Rebirth”, thunderous “New Breed” and “Human Sacrifice” drip with a controlled malevolence that does not rely on overt theatrics, samples or interludes (“Satan Prometheus” does have some subtle choirs), just a rhythmically bombastic assault that rumbles with a mature and seething anger that’s cathartic but restrained at the same time. It would have been easy for Infernus to go all Arioch (Funeral Mist) and lose his musical shit and make the album completely over the top and a giant ‘fuck you’ to King and Gaahl, but instead the material he wrote (and even Pest’s vocals) seems to be more stripped down, brooding and back to Gorgoroth’s earlier roots and based in simple, effective riffs.

In all, an album that seems to make Infernus a resilient individual, able to make an album this strong and focus despite all the bull shit (regardless of whose side you take). This is the the album Immortal’s All Shall Fail wanted to be.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
December 18th, 2009


  1. Commented by: Grimulfr

    Gorgoroth is one of those bands love rages wild in my heart for. Open the gates let out the untamed forces, we’ve got a world to win. The band went through a cleansing fire, while I did some teeth grinding awaiting the prosperity and beauty that would follow the rebirth of Gorgoroth. Time to carve a new giant. The revelation of the doom of godseed was disheartening, long live Infernus….

  2. Commented by: Cynicgods

    Quite the snarky, smartass comment, Grim. Kudos.

    Still have that SATAAAAAAANNNNNNN PROMETHEUUUUUUUUSSSSSSSSSS chant ringing in my ears. Always liked Pest. Who’d have thought Infernus would still have this much compositional power left in him after all those years he let King take over?

  3. Commented by: Cynicgods

    Certainly not I. :D

  4. Commented by: Biff Tannan

    Just picked this up last week. Killer fucking album. Very suprised by the quality of the riffs, given Ifernus’ silence in the last decade.

  5. Commented by: Seantanas

    Allow me to be the first to give this a lukewarm response. The recording/production is far too clean for Gorgoroth, and I’ve heard most of these same riffs on their past releases – I expected much more than a rehash. Sorry fellas…

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge