There’s an old adage in American Football: You should never lose your staring job to injury.

While Drew Bledsoe, Trent Green and Joe Montana might beg to differ, here comes Poland’s Hate to ably replace Behemoth while Nergal recovers from his recently diagnosed leukemia (get well soon!). Long waiting in the shadows of the likes of Behemoth, Decapitated and Vader, lifelong backups Hate are the Kurt Warner of death metal, and now they have their chance.

Further dropping some of their early US death metal influences and industrial/cyber elements that surfaced on 2005’s watershed Anaclasis and 2008’s Morphosis (replaced with more esoteric and mysterious elements), and now even presenting the same robed and face painted aesthetic as Nergal and co., Hate appear to have finally found a sound: The band has risen from their underrated status and delivered an album that should elevate them into the next level.

It’s hard not to think of Behemoth when listening to Erebos (even that title is Behemoth-y); more down tuned guitars, a thick more robust rhythm section, Adam the First Sinner’s deep, processed sounding vocals and more of an emphasis on vaguely militant and Middle Eastern riffs with a far more pummeling, controlled lumbering marches amid the swathe of technicality. It’s not a vast difference from the more mechanical and clinical Vader and Decapitated worship of the bands early efforts, but it’s subtly and tangibly different and pretty damn good regardless.

Of course fans of Behemoth will cry afoul of the bands obvious new digs, but why not embrace it while Nergal recovers? The nine tracks and one intro contained on Erebos all deliver stern death metal with that undeniable Polish hue that pounds and rumbles with chest beating confidence, skill and just enough sneaky melody to make it memorable.  Just sit back and enjoy the likes of the stellar title track, personal favorite “Hero Cults”, monstrous lurch of “Transsubstance”, blistering “”Hexagony”, sturdy chunk of “Wrists” and outstanding closer  “Luminous Horizons” which deliver some of 2011’s first great death metal.

Is it original? Not by a long shot, as anyone that’s heard any of their peers mentioned above can attest to. Is it a neck snapping, razor sharp display of Polish excellence that will satiate fans of Behemoth? Fuck yes.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
January 31st, 2011


  1. Commented by: Brutalicon

    I don’t know, they can kind of be considered original, maybe… They did start as a band 21 years ago and a year before Behemoth got together.

    that being said, I don’t care that much if they are original or not. I thought the last 2 albums brutalized my brains out and are fun to listen to. Hopefully this should do the same. :)

  2. Commented by: faust666

    These guys do sound like a cross between Vader and Behemoth but here’s the thing… I can actually tell the difference when I’m listening to all 3 bands so it doesn’t matter.. Very solid album especially the middle.. good review.

  3. Commented by: Desperado

    I like these guys and their new album as well, but always find myself reaching for Lost Soul, Calm Hatchery, Trauma, Devilyn and Deivos far more often. Good alubm though, my tastes just differ slightly. And while their from Denmark, I can’t help but hear a slight Polish sound in the band Die, Rise of the Rotten is very well produced, written and played. Just pure energetic brutality. God Damn I love me some Death Metal.

  4. Commented by: shaden

    trauma and lost soul are much better,this lp is lackluster.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory
  • Six Feet Under - Killing For Revenge
  • Skulldozer - Non Stop Ruthless Crushing
  • Synestia/Disembodied Tyrant  - The Poetic Edda EP