Hesperus Dimension
The Cyclothymic Panopticon

Like Satyricon and Thorns? Then you’re bound to like this Polish act, who combine their mechanized brand of black metal with a variety of spacey effects and add-ons.

Maniacal, undulating saxophones, distorted vocal samples and early 80s synth effects are thrown into the black metal mix on “Axis of Diagram.” Some carnivalesque, Arcturus-style menace and electronic ephemera appears on the frenetic “Through Drowsy Daydreams,” which comes off like the sound of a virus destroying your hard drive. And “23 Hands” lays fragmented, squealing riffs atop a stuttery breakbeat structure. Combined with jittery, spoken vocals and the occasional synth snippet, it comes off like black metal hip-hop (or an Ulver remix, take your pick). Vocals throughout are more guttural than your usual black metal rasp or screech, but it never strays into death metal territory.

Overall, this EP was well done and boasts high production values. My main complaint is that it’s also highly derivative, despite the large number of elements at play. It could easily just be a new release from Thorns or Lunaris, not to mention the obvious links to Satyricon‘s sound. (If only recent Satyricon had this much going on. Sigh.) It’s certainly a good starting point, but I’ll be looking for Hesperus Dimension to push their sound – and ideas – even further on their next release.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jordan Itkowitz
February 14th, 2009


  1. Commented by: axiom

    I wish there was a new Lunaris release.

  2. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    Saxophone abuse = fail

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Todesstoss - Das Liebweh-Dekret
  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound