Hessian Crucible

Listen, a s much as I’d like to, I rarely review 3 track demos- I simply don’t have the time considering all the other stuff we get here to review. However, I will make a few exceptions; 1) if you are really fucking good, 2) if you are really fucking good and local and 3) If you are really fucking good, local and seem like a nice group of blokes.

Enter Hessian Crucible, a three piece death metal band from Springfield, Missouri (also to home of the excellent Jute Gyte). I literally found these guys completely by chance while CD shopping in Springfield at a store where the band’s manager happened to work. He noticed the awesome collection of CDs I was purchasing and threw on a pre master track from Hessian Crucible, and I was immediately impressed. Fast forward a few months and a few Facebook messages later and here is the band’s excellent 3 song demo.

The first thing that grabbed me about this demo is the sound quality delivered by Jarrod Nafe at the local ZombieLife Studio. This thing sounds as good as any big name, big label, big studio release with a huge, crisp sound that’s perfect for death metal. Second, the trio really chose 3 perfect songs to put out there, including a 9 minute number and as a result you’ve got almost 20 minutes of quality death metal.

The band’s restrained, controlled delivery does on fact remind me of Arkansas’ Vore, (who they recently played with at their CD release party) yet another awesome unsigned act. But along with the monstrous sense of loping classic groove, Hessian Crucible also bring to mind Garden of Shadows as  as well as the first Vehemence CD with its deft sense of melody,  solos and Brandon Dorsey’s deep but decipherable growl. Not a bad comparison starting out if you ask me.

The first track “Hellblast” (the track I previewed at the CD store)  is a clever choice to open with a Behemoth-like double bass rumble and whine but about 3:20 in, the band unleash a simply killer march/groove that shows this trio simply has ‘it’. This is further highlighted by the demo centerpiece, the epic, nine minute “Shame Spiral”, where the Vehemence/Garden of Shadows  comparison really comes into play with a melodic, atmospheric mid section that climaxes with an appropriately structured, rumbling peak. The demo closes with “The Stoning” a little more urgent but similar track  to “Hellblast”, that again ends with a perfect delivered classic old school groove.  These guys just get death metal.  I just hope if the band ever get around to a full CD, they can keep up this quality for a full album.

I know it seems over kill or even regional preference to write so much about a 3 song demo, but the truth is I’m really excited about these guys, (and I would be if the were from Nepal or Siberia) and hope a label reads this and listens to them- NOW.







[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
September 30th, 2011


  1. Commented by: Gabaghoul

    Vehemence + Garden of Shadows references? Yes please

  2. Commented by: jerry

    it’s awesome to see bands like this get this kind of press. It’s also awesome to hear people say they are excited about a band. That’s getting more and more rare for me.

  3. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    This album is fantastic; stream samples here:


    Is this thing for sale anyplace?

  4. Commented by: Jordan Itkowitz

    yes, want to buy. great discovery, totally digging this

  5. Commented by: elguerosinfe

    I contacted them via Facebook: you can download the album for $3 at reverbnation, or buy the disc from them for $5. Nice guys!

  6. Commented by: Brandon Dorsey (Hessian Crucible)

    We would like to thank Erik Thomas and Teeth of the Divine for taking interest in our band and to everyone that has read this review and posted feedback! If anyone is interested in purchasing “Morbidity” you can download the songs on Reverbnation for $2.97 but if you would like a hard copy of the cd (recommended) then we can mail one to you for $5. You can contact us at hessiancrucible@gmail.com or via facebook.com/hessiancrucible.

  7. Commented by: Brandon Dorsey (Hessian Crucible)

    You can now download the entire Morbidity Ep for free at Reverbnation.com/hessiancrucible. Tell your friends!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise