Hiss From the Moat

The debut album from Italians Hiss from the Moat has been described as blackened deathcore, because that’s exactly what we need in the metal world is another sub-genre.  Well fear not and don’t stop reading now, as I’m here to tell you there’s nary a ‘core element to this one, and if you’re a fan of well-played, blackened death metal, you’ll want to give this one a spin.

The vocals are handled by Paolo Pieri (Hour of Penance), and consist of an intelligible, black metal style yell.  He’s joined by fellow Hour of Penance skinsman James Payne, who absolutely kills it on this album.  Those two form the basis for the band, with guitarist Jack Poli showing off some deftly played riffs.  Opening track “Conquering Christianity” sees the band setting their black/death foundation, with some vicious blasts and meaty riffs over the top of Pieri’s blasphemous lyrics.  Following tracks “Honor to the Mother of Death” and “Moralism as Anesthetic” both feature some really good buildups to a wicked solo by Poli, backed by some absolutely blistering double bass from Payne.  Two of the most headbangingly awesome tracks of this album.

“Path of the Pilgrims” opens up with an awesome syncopated guitar riff-drum pattern, that’s repeated further on down the song.  Closer “Caduceus” brings the whole show to a close, wrapping up a very solid album.  If you’re a fan of Hate or earlier Behemoth, this album will be right up your alley.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Kevin E
March 27th, 2014


  1. Commented by: Overman

    This album destroys! Jesus. This album definitely sets an example for “exactly what we need in the metal world is another sub-genre.”
    Sarcastically of course but a very unique/masterful sub-genre.
    Blackened Deathcore. Not a single word not metal.
    Great review Kevin! Can’t wait to hear another album.


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain