At One With The Night Sky

I kinda dug, These Nameless Worlds, the debut EP from this atmospheric/melodic black metal duo from Sweden. Despite the light-less moniker, it was a cosmic-themed, uplifting, bright take on the genre with some very pleasant melodies in the vein of Ghostbath, Vinland, Numeron, and Vallendusk.

Well here is the full-length debut on the very fitting label, Black Lion Records, and while it delivers the same sort of spacey atmosphere and melodies, it never quite improves on the debut or fulfills the promise of the songs on the debut EP.

That’s not to say, At One With The Night Sky isn’t a good record, as it’s pretty solid, and certainly fans of the EP or the bands mentioned above will enjoy the 7 songs contained here, there is just something missing. Where the EP had a few lovely standout moments whether be it riffs or delightful little bridges, (i.e. “Beyond the Cold Black Yonder” or “Dilation Sleep”), nothing on this really release grabs my attention quite as much.

Now, it’s still chock full of nice, 6/8 jangly, melodic tremolo riffs (“Tragedy in Starlight”, “Dimensionless Blackness”), mid-paced jaunts, and starry atmospherics, but the riffs seem a little more repetitive and the wondrous little piano sections and the atmospheric bridges (“Of Longing Spirit and Infinite Solitude”, “Ghostly Soliliquies”) seem just a little less wondrous.

The album does end with a fine track in “Earthbound” which ends the decent album with a very positive spin and shows these guys ere certainly players in the genre if they can be a little more consistent.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
November 21st, 2023


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Dååth - The Deceivers
  • Moisson Livide - Sent Empèri Gascon
  • Cognitive - Abhorrence
  • Duft - Altar of Instant Gratification
  • Amiensus - Reclamation: Part 1
  • Baron - Beneath the Blazing Abyss
  • Mütiilation - Black Metal Cult
  • Arð - Untouched By Fire
  • Kerry King - From Hell I Rise
  • Trocar - Extremities
  • Vesperian Sorrow - Awaken the Greylight
  • From Dying Suns - Calamity
  • Volcandra - The Way of the Ancients
  • Kosuke Hashida - Justifiable Homicide
  • The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory