Main Line Riders
Shot in the Dark

There are a lot of bands popping up with a sound that is a throwback to the glory days of ‘80s Sunset Strip Sleaze Rock. Most notably, Buckcherry (who recently went platinum), but also Vains Of Jenna & Hardcore Superstar. Call it the 20-year cycle…2007 is seeing 1987 manifest itself in the Rock scene. Witness Main Line Riders’ debut CD for Retroactive Records entitled Shot In The Dark.

Complete with tattoos, “guyliner” & stage names like Mikey Mayhem (vocals), Cliffy (guitars), Josho (drums) and Aaron Scars (bass), Main Line Riders are barreling down the tracks full bore with loose, ragged, LOUD Rock N Roll. Yep, it’s loud, it’s raucous and it’s…er, still loud. Something else it is, in this reviewer’s opinion, is a little bland. This type of music is all about vibe, and a lot of times I found myself missing the vibe they were trying to throw. Blending LA Sleaze Rock with Punk energy is a good thing, but a band has to sell the vibe to really have its music penetrate the brains of jaded Rock N Rollers everywhere and, despite moments of promise, Main Line Riders don’t quite sell it.

It’s not without it’s bright spots, though. “Throwing Bones To The Wolves”, “One Way Ticket To Love” & “Pack Up Your Blues” do a fine job of getting the toes tapping & the air guitar flying. But others, like “Here I Am” & “Ride The Main Line”, just come off flat & superficial. Again, they don’t sell it.

No doubt, this is a decent debut & time will most likely see the band only get better. For now I can say that if you’re already a fan of the genre, I’m sure you’ll find something to like about Main Line Riders. If you’re not, then they’re not likely to convert you.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Shawn Pelata
January 24th, 2008


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Bodom After Midnight - Paint the Sky with Blood EP
  • Morbid Breath - In the Hand of The Reaper EP
  • Becerus - Homo Homini Brutus
  • Zaratus - In The Days of Whore
  • Journey Into Darkness - Multitudes of Emptiness
  • Dalriada - Őszelő
  • Dyskinesia - Micturating Deposits of Grit Through the Urinary Tract EP
  • Phlebotomized - Pain, Resistance, Suffering EP
  • Silver Talon - Decadence and Decay
  • Detritivor - Scattered Remnants
  • The Plague - Within Death
  • Vreid - Wild North West
  • Throne - Pestilent Dawn
  • Obsolete - Animate/Isolate
  • Demiser - Through the Gate Eternal