Martriden EP

Afer self releasing this stunning EP late last year, here come Montana’s Martriden (named after a Norse nightmare inducing wraith) now armed with an appropriate and deserved record deal, re-releasing thier 4 song (though each song ranges for 5-7 minutes), debut that deserved the attention of SOA/Candlelight and now deserves the attention of fans of exceptional music.

Though essentially falling under the vast melodic death metal umbrella, Martriden, with lengthy songs, expansive segues, synths and a slightly cerebral, experimental edge, will have some appeal with Opeth fans, but don’t seem as self pretentious or Proggy/70’s obsessed. Also, the Dave Otero (Cephalic Carnage, Summon, Throcult) production is fantastic.

In a nut shell, three of the four songs here has some sort of absolutely killer moment or section t that makes the demo required listening all the way through. Be it the stunning melodic peaks/solos of opener “Blank Eye Stare”, (2:55-3:42, 5:16- end), the superb melodic canter and acoustic segue of “In Death We Burn”, and rounded out by the brilliant melodic riffs, solos and chord progressions that lace lavish closer “Set A Fire In Our Flesh”. Only “The Art of Death Infernal” doesn’t strike a perfect chord, but is a perfectly competent, more technical death metal foray.

With a band like this finally getting signed other there’s hope for other superb unsigned American acts like The Pax Cecilia, The Living Fields, Empyrean Eclipse, The Green Evening Requiem, The Fifth Sun and Gynnbleidd. Lets hope other lables, like SOA/Candlelight did with this already superbly packaged release, follow suite and simply stick thier name on some already quality music that just needs to be distributed to fans.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
May 10th, 2007


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Tzompantli   - Beating the Drums of Ancestral Force
  • Ad Patres - Unbreathable
  • WyndRider - Revival
  • Unleashed - Before the Creation of Time
  • Ulcerate - Cutting the Throat of God
  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness