Mirror of Dead Faces

Despite the fact that this group of Riverside, California kids play the now overdone form of The Black Dahlia Murder worship, like say, Salt the Wound and Sons of Azrael, the fact is, they do it really, fucking well, and possibly even better.

Quite simply, from start to finish, Lamentation is a blazing, relentless and razor sharp debut, despite its obvious influence and lack creativity. However, any lack of individuality is replaced by sheer scathing viciousness and very competent musicianship. The predictable mix of often truly blistering, hack ‘n’ slash, melodic At The Gates riffage and death metal is virtually breakdown free as the band literally slice and blast through all 9 tracks without refrain until ending instrumental closer “Plague of Sheol”.

Even when layered with the expected scream/growl dual vocals, MODF have an energy and melodic ferocity I have yet to hear from their many US counterparts, and they certainly give The Black Dahlia Murder a run for their money, though less black metal inclined. There are some truly fervent riffs here like the very impressive title track and also lots of well done solos as heard on “Gauntlet of the Will” and all of it is backed by the very stout drumming of Brandon Trahan. The mix of the melody and feral pacing is often absolutely perfect such as “A Cripple Within”, “This is My Curse”, “The Suffering” and “Bringer of Peace and Lord of War” display-a real surprise for such a young group.

I’m actually giving this record a serious amount of spins, and feel energized with each one and armed with a solid, if familiar production and non clichéd emo or forced death metal lyrics, Creator-Destructor, as they had with The Funeral Pyre, appear to have found a gem of a young US act, now only if they can keep them from Prosthetic Records!

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
October 20th, 2008


  1. Commented by: Nick

    who could have known what at the gates would soon become

  2. Commented by: Staylow

    Awesome. Will have to check this out ASAP.

  3. Commented by: swampthang

    eh SOA were good when they had there demos out. not to much anymore though. anyways this is a good band def gotta pick this joint up!!!

  4. Commented by: MattMetal

    I heard this album in my buddys car last night and was blown away! I’m going to buy this album online today! Can’t wait for their next one

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain