Time Never Lasts EP

It’s been 4 years since Mithras‘ stunning last album, Behind the Shadows Lie Madness, so rather than prolong the agony, the guys have dropped this quick little EP. Two new tracks and three live songs. Not a ton of material, but Mithras doesn’t just write songs – they write galaxy-destroying, mind-warping, all-consuming astral death metal odysseys, so I guess it’s okay.

“Time Never Lasts” is my favorite of the two. It starts simply enough, built around progressively climbing scales set to an endless jackhammer barrage of percussion. It doesn’t take long for the song to mutate into more complex, geometric and punishing forms, yet it always maintains a cogent forward momentum. As always, the real treat for me is the shimmering cosmic tone from guitarist Leon Macey. (Also be sure to check out UK death/thrash act Scythian‘s 2009 release To Those Who Stand Against Us, which Macey mixed/mastered – you’ll hear more of that awesome, kaleidoscopic guitar tone in there.) “Inside the Godmind” is a more chaotic, brutal journey, shot through with more of Macey’s rippling effects. The highlight here is the massive, lumbering second half, which finally devolves into a cacophony of echoes from deep space.

The live tracks were recorded at a London gig back in 2008: “Tomb of Kings” and “Wrath of God”, off of Forever Advancing… Legions, and “Beyond the Eyes of Man,” from Worlds Beyond the Veil. The earlier tracks were less melodic to begin with, so it’s not surprising that live, you mostly just hear drums and growling, with the guitars buried beneath. “Eyes of Man” fares better, with its vaguely Egyptian-sounding melodies riding much higher in the mix. I’m not really a fan of live albums, but this last track at least makes me want to see Mithras if they ever come around stateside.

The real attraction here is the new material. Wish there would have been a couple more tracks instead of the live stuff, but they’re a good teaser for the next full-length, which drops in September. And if you really can’t wait until then, just remember: time never uh, yeah.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Jordan Itkowitz
January 27th, 2012


  1. Commented by: Nick Taxidermy

    Jesus, I remember Beyond The Shadows, we played the shit out of it on my old radio show.

  2. Commented by: E. Thomas

    its a shame these guys took so much time off, they were right there as far as tech death elite, then Gorod, Decrepit Birth, etc just blew up and Mithras didnt release anything after 2007 til now.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream
  • Replacire - The Center That Cannot Hold
  • Wormwood - The Star
  • Cavalera - Schizophrenia
  • Gatecreeper - Dark Superstition
  • Henry Kane - Circle of Pain
  • Grand Demise of Civilization - The Blaze of Abaddon
  • Anthropophagus Depravity - Demonic Paradise
  • Downcross - White Tower