Molotov Solution
The Harbinger

I literally knew nothing about this Nevada band before seeing this suddenly appear in Metal Blade’s digital promo site, apparently their second full length album – no press hype from Metal Blade, no other inklings about the style or substance of the band before I pressed play.

And when I did press play I was greeted with some VERY impressive deathcore.

Now, I know most of you are rolling your eyes right about now, and with good reason as deathcore has become metal’s red headed stepchild thanks to a complete saturation of the genre. However, much like recent releases by the likes of Oceano, Earth From Above and Impending Doom, Molotov Solution deliver an absolutely pummeling display of the genre, and add some very smart social/political lyrics to boot.

Stylistically, Molotov Solution aren’t doing anything too different from the aforementioned bands, and they seem to have Impending Doom’s sense of controlled, mid paced, rumbling approach to the genre. It’s hefty, heavy and chock full of loping, massive breakdowns and angular mid paced lurches, scattered with blast beats and the expected scream/growl vocals. Nothing new, but like Depths and The Serpent Servant short, direct tracks like “Only The Dead”, melodic “Atrum Inritus”, blistering heavy title track, “Enslaved” and impressively varied and epic clsoer “The Dawn of Ascendancy” are implemented perfectly and with a sense of song writing and maturity that so many of the genre’s bands lack.

Part of that maturity is the lyrics and themes which ply a truly vehement anti establishment, anti government prose that’s rather impressive. No silly song titles or gimmick interludes or programming just harsh rants of social and political disgust, revolution and rebellion backed by burly deathcore. For example- “We are being cornered, the danger will never fade, an unholy alliance of power to dominate and enslave the human race. They’re sponsored by the mandrake mechanism, which creates power out of thin air. That’s what you get when corporations would rather profit from our pain than help improve their nations. Instead they use our suffering as means to get what they need, maintaining constant dependency so that their plans can proceed“; From “Living Proof”. Or how about “Resurrected, forged in the shadows. Forked tongue spewing venom and flames. A message of hope coupled with a promise of change. A subtle overhaul in appearance and disposition, a clever distraction forged to subdue the population”; From “The Harbinger”.

Throw in a suitably punishing production/mix /master from Daniel Castleman/Tim Lambesis (As I Lay Dying etc) and Alan Douches and the end result is a punishing but intelligent and impressive display of serious deathcore that’s not concerned with scenes, looks or trends, but conveying utter disdain and disgust with the current state of affairs through sonic devastation.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
June 15th, 2009


  1. Commented by: Reignman35

    Solid album… I dig it… Not too many screamed vocals which is always nice…

  2. Commented by: krustster

    Yeah, this one is awesome. I love some of the lyrics:

    “I don’t want to set the world on fire–I just want to watch you fucking burn!”

    “This is not a promise, this is a fucking threat!”

    “We! The! People! Deserve a fucking explanation! We the people! Will not be exploited any more!”

    Bad ass.

  3. Commented by: Haphazard

    Heaviest album of the year so far. Grossly underrated band & release that noone seems to care about. CREATIVE deathcore songwriting…not too common.

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Pestilence - Levels of Perception
  • Sonata Arctica - Clear Cold Beyond
  • Necrocracy - Predestiny
  • Replicant - Infinite Mortality
  • Zombi - Direct Inject
  • Mastiff - Deprecipice
  • Wristmeetrazor - Degeneration
  • Lvme - A Sinful Nature
  • Chapel of Disease - Echoes of Light
  • Houwitser - Sentinel Beast
  • My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding
  • Mutilation Barbecue  - Amalgamations of Gore
  • Atrophy - Asylum
  • Deception - Daenacteh
  • Sentry - Sentry