Negură Bunget
Virstele Pamantului

“The Age of the Land is an album about embracing your destiny, about choosing and consciously assuming a way of fife. The Earth is where we came from and where we go back into.” Another natural and organic album from Negru and new company. Now lets move past the record label press kit and delve into whether this disc has any merit to it and is worthy of the name Negură Bunget. I was dismayed to hear of the break up of the band and shocked to learn Negru was continuing the band without the blessing of co-founder Hupogrammos Disciple’s. My first reaction was can’t possibly be good, can it? Negru is one of my favorite drummers but this band is far more than percussion and I was not sure how much of the raw atmosphere of the music could be attributed to Negru. No way could he just fill in the slots in the lineup and continue seamlessly.

Prepare to be mesmerized beyond your wildest expectations. When this digital promo arrived on my hard drive I was delighted, nay, devastated. New members, new material, no way, they were going to tarnish perfection. Took less than five minutes for me to change my tune, dawn has risen on a new age of Negură Bunget but the entire history of the last age is not only fresh on their minds, it is resplendent in auditory glory for all to enjoy, revel in the lush haunting keys, the ever present majestic undertones, yes even their undertones are majestic, and the razor sharp slashing bite of the vocals. The clean style is heavily used as well. The clean vocals decay into the mists and the horns rattle the roots of the mountains. The warbling melodic lines add that mystical quality so vital to past Negură Bunget albums. Overall this album is more folk, less black, more ‘progressive’. Many times while listening I am reminded of Weather Report’s I Sing The Body Electric, though I would not call Virstele Pamantului jazz metal.

If you sit and listen, trying to pick out the drum patterns, the bass lines, the subtleties of the guitars, you quickly get drawn in. Turn down the lights, turn up the volume and allow yourself to be drawn away to the land of faerie, or the Romanian version of it, when you come back you will never be he same. People will look at you and say, sadly shaking their heads, “He has never been quite right since he was carried away into the misty mountains.”

Favorite songs are irrelevant, listen in its entirety, but pay extra special attention to “Întoarcerea Amurgului” and “Jar.” This is easily the best Negură Bunget 2.0 release, lets hope for a second one.

[Visit the band's website]
Written by Grimulfr
April 26th, 2010


  1. Commented by: mccumberv

    That was an excellent review, totally makes me want to jam “Om” thanks I will keep an eye out for this one.

  2. Commented by: gabaghoul

    yeah I had to go and do some research and make sure that this was in fact the new line-up because it so seamlessly follows Om. another captivating journey. great review Grim, both of ’em.

  3. Commented by: Cynicgods

    “He has never been quite right since he was carried away into the misty mountains.” Love that line. Great reviews for both Negura Bunget 1.0 and 2.0., Grim.

    Negru definitely surprised me with this, quite a statement to make toward his former bandmates. Hope Dordeduh can compare.

  4. Commented by: vugelnox

    gah this album really needs to show up at some US distros, I really want to hear this!

Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Assassin - The Upcoming Terror/ Interstellar Experience (Reissues)
  • Nyrak - Devourer of All
  • Summoner’s Circle - Cult
  • Kratti - Matka Kohti Kosmista
  • Suffering Souls - An Iconic Taste of Demise
  • Vale of Pnath - Between the Worlds of Life and Death
  • Pathology - Unholy Descent
  • Ischemic - Condemned to the Breaking Wheel
  • Terminal Nation  - Echoes of the Devil’s Den
  • (Un)Worthy - This Present Darkness
  • Severe Torture - Torn From the Jaws of Death
  • Nocturnus AD - Unicursal
  • Dauþuz - Uranium
  • Fluids - Reduced Capabilities
  • The Headless Ghost - King Of Pain