Existence Unveiled

Other than Mithras, Sarpanitum, Trigger the Bloodshed, Fleshrot (RIP) and Detrimentum, I’m not very familiar with the better of the brutal/tech death metal scene coming out of the UK, but here is Hull based newcomer Parasitized and their impressive debut 6 song EP. Though released independently back in 2010, fledgling Canadian label Blast Head Records has given it a larger audience and it’s well worth it, being my favorite of the label’s first three releases by far.

The above mentioned bands stand as solid reference points, but there’s some Origin tucked away in here also with some shrill hyper blasts, sweeps and dual vocals. I also hear some classic Brutality here with some of the more classically inspired solos. And it’s all rendered with a nice beefy production and a skill level worthy of any US or ScandinavianĀ  brutal tech death metal. The material isn’tĀ  so techy that it loses it brutality as the balance between tech and bludgeoning is perfect. There’s equal amounts squealing blasts and burly lurches all with the requisite dual high/low vocals and enough song writing deftness to not be either a noodle or blast fest. Parasitized, just have that innate presence to deliver enough precision and brute force to sneak into the upper echelon of the genre’s new young acts should the promise of tracks like ” Beyond the Frontiers of Pain”,”Flesh Harvest” ( two tracks where I really hear Brutality ), and 5 minute+ EP closer “Feast of the Hyperboreans” continue and improve for any subsequent material.

It would be easy to over think and over review a 6 song EP, so trust me, just do your self a favor and head to Blast Head Records, who are a pretty promising young label ( the recently signed German death metal act Tombthroat sounds really promising) and grab this EP. You wont regret it.



[Visit the band's website]
Written by Erik T
April 5th, 2012


Leave a Reply

Privacy notice: When you submit a comment, your creditentials, message and IP address will be logged. A cookie will also be created on your browser with your chosen name and email, so that you do not need to type them again to post a new comment. All post and details will also go through an automatic spam check via Akismet's servers and need to be manually approved (so don't wonder about the delay). We purge our logs from your meta-data at frequent intervals.

  • Embryonic Autopsy - Origins of the Deformed
  • Sear Bliss - Heavenly Down
  • The Shiva Hypothesis - Faustian Restlessness EP
  • Kommandant - Exhibition of Conquest EP
  • Pentagram (Chile) - Eternal Life of Madness
  • Aklash - Reincarnation
  • Morgue - Close to Complete Darkness
  • Wormed - Omegon
  • Carrion Throne - The Feast of Human Vices EP
  • Kittie - Fire
  • Mad Hatter - Oneironautics
  • Serement - Abhorrent Invocations
  • Limbonic Art - Opus Daemoniacal
  • Bloodcross - Gravebound
  • Sentiment Dissolve - The Orwellian Dream